Statement Banner

Andrew Swan, MLA Minto
November 24, 2006

Daniel McIntyre Maroons

Speaking of spirited energy, Mr. Speaker, I'm pleased to report to this House that 2006 saw Daniel McIntyre Maroons return to the Winnipeg High School Football League.

Daniel Mac has a football tradition and has won many city championships in the past. Current CFL players Marcus Howell and Dave Donaldson are graduates of the Maroons' football program. However, in the 1990s the team encountered difficulties and the team folded. But this year, thanks to the efforts of Daniel Mac alumni, including Jerry Kissack, John Jamieson and many others, the enthusiasm of principal Gilles Beaumont, head coach Darrel Mazur and his staff, and most of all the support and energy of students at Daniel Mac, the Maroons took the field once again.

With many new players, including several players newly arrived in Canada, the Maroons started slowly, but gained momentum throughout the season. The team has a solid nucleus of returning players. I know they will be a force to contend with in future seasons.

Football is the truest team sport, requiring discipline and hard work. A team's success depends on the co-operation and combined effort of all players. The men and women who play Maroons football learn valuable lessons to make their future brighter.

Daniel Mac is a proud West End school with a history spanning more than 80 years. The school features first-rate academics, excellent performing and fine arts, and competitive athletics. The return of football is one more great step for a school and a community with much to celebrate.

Mr. Speaker, I would ask leave to have the names of this year's DMCI Maroons' players, coaches and training staff entered in the permanent record of Hansard to recognize their achievements that tomorrow's champions can look back at this important season.

Thank you.

DMCI Maroons: Marvin Aceta, Nick Anderson, Adamson Aquino, Matthew Asham, Rigo Aviles, Sean Bare, Matthew Benoit, Francis Bowers, Lewis Bowers, Awot Btesamlak, Ryan Clarke, Mark Cruz, Richard Cruz, John De Guzman, Jason Degagne, Taime Doucette, Stephen Ferreira, Yoko Fwamba, Richard Gajes, John Johnson, Craig Kwiatkowski, James Legiehn, Ricardo Madierios, Lawrence Medel, Kyle McCourt, Aaron Painter, Jordan Pastushenko, Dino Petrelli, Justin Rego, Tristen Rodriguez, Chris Ross, Steven Rowntree, Scott Soriano, Jarrold Sorr, Eric Tangtakoune, Will Tanjo, Rene Thomas, Charmaine Vedoya, Oliver Vesario, Ethan Zacharias.

Chief Operating Officer, Gilles Beaumont; Head Coach, Darrell Mazur; General Manager, Erin Armstrong; Student Manager, Pauline Dizon, Line Coach, Mark Sears, Line Coach, Don McPherson; Linebacker, Darren Sharpe; Line Coach, John Hearn; Strength and Conditioning, Melanie Talastas; Receivers Coach, Sudlow "Kim" Alphonso; Videotaping, Nadia Bousquet; Student Trainer, Marc Cousans; Cheer Team, Carrie Maier; Booster Club, Wendy Gillespie; Alumni Consultant, Jerry Kissack; Alumni Consultant, John Jamieson; Student Coach, Javier Argel; Student Coach, Jesse Clark; Student Coach, James Quirante.