Statement Banner

, MLA Rossmere
June 27, 2013

Phoenix Soccer Cup

Mr. Speaker, the 5th annual Phoenix Slurpee Cup was held this past week from June 20 to 24. The Slurpee Cup is a five-day soccer tournament hosted by the Phoenix Football Club with sponsorship from 7-Eleven–hence the name–along with Umbro Canada and Home Run Sports.

The soccer tournament is for boys and girls from ages 9 to 16. Over time, the tournament has grown from 80 to 180 teams. This year was the biggest year yet, with 185 teams, 325 games, 19 categories, over 100 volunteers and 2,200 players. The tournament included teams from Winnipeg, as well as Flin Flon, Regina, Saskatoon, Dryden, Kenora and Portage la Prairie.

It is quite a task to organize such a large tournament as the Slurpee Cup. My compliments to the hard-working organizing committee: Stewart Clark, tournament chair; committee members, Colette Stallard, Frank Consiglio, and Sarah Strauman. I would also like to acknowledge the huge contribution of Dick Derrett, who is–as Phoenix staff, keeps everything on track and for whom this was his last Slurpee Cup as he announced his retirement. Thank you, Dick, we wish you well.

I had the opportunity to attend the tournament on Saturday, June 22. It was a phenomenal event. The kids had fun, parents were cheering and the coaches were excited to see their teams do their very best. There were many other activities for the kids, and overall the weekend became more than soccer. It was a community success.

I would like to congratulate the Phoenix Football Club for their hard work and success with the Slurpee tournament. Soccer is more than a game. It teaches teamwork, co-operation, grace in winning and losing, strategy and most importantly, camaraderie. It is no surprise at how many kids gave up their weekend to partake in this event and even less surprising the dedication of volunteers who understand the virtue of sport.

I ask my colleagues to join me today in congratulating the Phoenix FC and all the players for an exciting weekend. You were all winners.

Thank you, Mr. Speaker.