Statement Banner

, MLA St. Norbert
June 13, 2013

Collège St. Norbert Collegiate Varsity Girls Basketball

Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize an incredible young team's accomplishment. This year, the Celtic Varsity Girls Basketball team from Collège St. Norbert Collegiate was top of their division, winning their zone banner. The team showed that with dedication, passion and teamwork anything is possible.

From December to March, the young women spent countless hours honing their skills between practices, games and tournaments. The teams were together anywhere from three to six days a week. As a group, these young women shared some special experiences while working together to strengthen their friendships and to make the most of wonderful opportunities.

Participation in sports is extremely important in every community in the world. Not only does playing sports lead to healthier lifestyle, it also leads to safer and more connected communities. When we play and enjoy team sports like basketball, we learn many valuable lessons. We learn to look out for each other, ensure that support is always there right there beside you. We learn to forget our differences and work together towards the same goal. We also learn that even if you miss the net, the rebound is equally as important. These lessons teach us the skills needed to develop and grow in our schools and in our communities.

Mr. Speaker, successful people do not achieve in isolation, so it is important to also recognize those who have supported these young women along the way. The teachers, coaches and parents who have encouraged them and been there for these girls surely have and will continue to make a difference.

A special thank you to coaches Denis Marinelli and Colin Ritchie and school Principal Stewart Shinnan for their attendance here today.

The Collège St. Norbert Collegiate Varsity Girls Basketball team members are Carole Dupuis, Jessica Hunt, Jade Unrau, Carley Wiens, Bailey Choma, Morgan Highfield, Jaden Weir, Kaelyn Lisoway, Melissa Anderson, Courtney Engel and Lisa Hocking.

Congratulations to all of you on your win, and best of luck in their futures.

Thank you.