Statement Banner

, MLA Interlake
April 17, 2013

Peguis Juniors Hockey Team

Mr. Speaker, involvement in sport is a great way for young people to get to work as a team, learn discipline and, most importantly, have fun.

Today I would like to recognize one group of talented, hard-working young people for an extraordinary achievement. The Peguis Juniors hockey team from Peguis First Nation will represent Manitoba in the Western Canadian Junior B hockey championships held in St. Malo this week. They will compete for the Keystone Cup alongside the teams from BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and northwestern Ontario.

The Peguis Juniors have played hard this season and their dedication has paid off. They swept the Manitoba Keystone Junior Hockey League with a record-breaking 35 consecutive wins and defeated the Selkirk Fishermen in the final to win the Baldy Northcott trophy. They deserve congratulations, but I also want to recognize all the hard-working coaches, parents, volunteers and fans that have helped make this season possible for the Peguis Juniors.

Mr. Speaker, hockey brings communities together. In Peguis, hockey has brought families, friends and elders out to watch games and cheer on these dedicated, young men, and with the development of the new Peguis multiplex, partially funded by this provincial government, even more people will be able to get involved in the near future.

Sport also forges connections between communities. The boys on the Peguis team come not just from Peguis and Fisher River, but from Winnipeg, Norway House, Ebb and Flow and Pinaymootang.

I invite all honourable members to join me in congratulating the Peguis Juniors and their supporters on their success this year, and in wishing them luck in the 2013 Keystone Cup.

Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

2012-2013 Peguis Juniors: Shane McPherson; Aaron Sinclair; Dallas Cochrane; Ralph Cochrane; Cole Murdock; Matthew Cameron; Preston Folster; Spencer Sutherland; Cody Zulyniak; Waylon Neault; Evan Spence; Tyler McKay; Jordan Anderson; Patrick Kirkness; Joseph Sutherland; Ryan Delorme; Alex Sutherland; Skylar Tait-Reaum; Dwight Sutherland; Wayne Folster; Grant Sutherland; Jarrett Cochrane; Presley Kirkness; Head Coach, Farron Cochrane; General Manager, Doug Daniels; Assistant Coach, Martin Favell; Assistant Coach, Trainer, Troy Cochrane; Trainer, Amie Lafreniere; Treasurer, Linda Sinclair.