Day of Mourning

April 28 is the Day of Mourning and this year, leaders walked through downtown Winnipeg to raise awareness of the annual occasion.

The Day of Mourning is Canada's national day to remember all those killed or injured on the job. The annual Leaders' Walk is a youth-led march that brings together young Manitobans, labour leaders and activists, and other community leaders to honour this day.

The event was especially poignant in light of the recent factory fire in Bangladesh.

The procession began at the Union Centre on Broadway and led to the Legislature where Premier Selinger and Labour Minister Jennifer Howard spoke at a rally. In attendance were MLAs Rob Altemeyer (Wolseley), Sharon Blady (Kirkfield Park), Dave Gaudreau (St. Norbert), Jim Maloway (Elmwood), Clarence Petterson (Flin Flon), Andrew Swan (Minto), Matt Wiebe (Concordia) and Melanie Wight (Burrows).

Brandon East MLA Drew Caldwell and MLA Steve Ashton spoke at Day of Mourning events held in Brandon and Thompson as well. For Manitoba, this day has special significance.

In 1991, Manitoba Member of Parliament, Rod Murphy, introduced Private Member’s legislation that prompted the Parliament of Canada to officially recognize April 28th as the Day of Mourning.

Seven years earlier, Manitoba union leader, Dick Martin was instrumental in the Canadian Labour Congress initiative to designate April 28th as the National Day of Mourning. The Day of Mourning is a reminder to us of the ongoing challenges we face in eliminating death, injury and illness in the workplace.